top of page

'Cafe U' Review


My eyes were immediately drawn to a stunning print, covering an entire wall, as I entered Cafe U. It showed clear blue skies and green grass, making you feel like you were in amongst nature. White panelled walls and a big bay window which let in lots natural light added to the relaxed, tropical vibe. Behind a curved glass display cabinet cabinet lay a wide selection of mouth-watering treats. As I walked up to the counter, paved in striking blue Moroccan tiles, I was greeted by a well-mannered, friendly lady with a welcoming smile across her face who took my order and directed me to the upstairs room. I started to walk through the dining room, making my way up to the stairs. A few tranquil customers were clustered around small tables, enjoying various, aromatic treats. They talked and laughed freely as if they were in their own home, filling the air with a satisfied buzz.

I hiked up the steep stairs, noticing the awkwardly small width of the stairway. The walls were lined with an eclectic mix of china plates and vintage shop signs. As I opened the door at the top of the stairway, I was greeted by paradise. The room had a refreshing palette of blue and white, with the walls and ceiling panelled wood painted a bright white. In the middle of the wall was an indentation about the height of a door. Two cabinets painted white with black handles took up the bottom half, with a sculptural vase filled with popping red flowers sitting on top. I took a seat at a table, sinking down into the comfortably thick padding of the chair. Resting my hands against the dark tabletop, I noticed the extreme cleanliness of the surface. Halfway up the wall was another big bay window, flooding the room with natural light.

The outer layer of the lemon meringue was delicate and crisp, crumbling slightly when picked up. 10 white, creamy balls were piled upon the base, dusted in a fine coat of cinnamon. Sinking my teeth into the soft meringue, bursts of slightly sweet citrus hit my tongue, sending my taste buds into a frenzy The pastry was well-baked and buttery, encasing the spongy lemon meringue hidden inside. Light, fluffy cream balls added the perfect amount of sweetness, tipping this phenomenal dish into perfection.

My dining experience at Cafe U was extremely successful, and it creates the perfect atmosphere for a private hangout with your friends or a quiet family night out. I would highly recommend this cafe for a small, casual meal, but if you are looking for something more substantial or lavish, I suggest you try somewhere else.

Who's Behind The Blog
Recommanded Reading
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow "THIS JUST IN"
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page