top of page

Crepes on Maling

Although I often considered CREPES ON MALING as an average type of modern style, I admire the fact that a warm feeling consisted throughout the building. The lighting was dim but not dark. Located at the very start of the line of shops, it’s no wonder this location should immediately attract customers. The sweet aroma is just the start of my high expectations being completed. Upon entering, there was no consistent theme as the roof had an exquisite industrial feel, but the the sides of the cafe did not complete this style as this area of the cafe carried a different approach. The extra decor of wall features felt like they had been bought quickly through a lot of stress of the cafe and owners. The cafe was quite exposed as the small area had tables very near to each other. The atmosphere of this shop definitely gave an approach of simplicity to a new level. The music playing was on a perfect low volume and was relaxing this also fulfilled the simple style.

Throughout the building, most of the area of the cafe was reasonably clean and well furnished. I couldn’t pause to notice the fact that this simple cafe did have a lavatory. Merchandise was selling at the back of the cafe. Small amounts of dust did flow throughout the front window sill however, my eye was quickly drawn away to the pleasant yet sophisticated miniature decor like a few plastic flowers laid out on the tables. Another wow factor I had to consider were the extremely welcoming group of red couches which another customer was clearly enjoying as she sunk into these couches. The decor flowing through crepes on mailing was definitely a highlight of the building.

There are a few minor problems appearing throughout the cafe, including slow service and lack of theme however, these facts should not be criticised as Crepes on Maling has only been open for eight months. The head chef also works as a waiter and is the owner his name is Kamran. The address of this cafe is 66 Maling Road Canterbury Melbourne.

I appreciated the strange but joyful variety of food options of the menu. I ordered the $8 strawberry crepe which to my amazement was reasonably low priced. As my food arrived I had an electric shock as the appetising level of my plate was too high to be realistic. Colours burst off my plate as a sweet smell of the delicious crepe surrounded me. In front of me I stared at a creative, pattern of strawberry and chocolate goodness, laid out open on my plate in a simple sugar sauce. This was drizzled over a thin delicate crepe. I also peered inside the crepe to see the exquisite melting strawberries in a delicious fashion. To the side of my meal was a creamy scoop of ice cream. At this stage of my observations my mouth was already watering just by the glimpse of my dish. As I quickly gobbled down my dish, piece by piece, flavour erupted inside my mouth. Sweet and smooth. All of the flavors including the creamy ice cream, the fresh strawberries, the thin crepe and the sauces all emerged together as if they were meant to be. My delicious crepe should reflect Crepes on Maling with great pride as it was too scrumptious to be real.

Unfortunately we were not provided with enough menus and our forks arrived late. The waiters were friendly but the service could have been faster. Our drinks were hot and tasted of detergent. As there was more customers I sensed stress going on behind the scenes in the kitchen because of these minor issues in the service.

I highly recommend this cafe with a 3 1/2 stars out of 5. The food here should have definitely been considered as a delicacy or a treat as the standard of my crepe was far above average. I was stunned by the wide variety of food. This factor made it family friendly and suitable for all ages. Areas for improvement could be a change in some of the decor and to improve on certain service flaws. Overall, there were a lot of highlights for Crepes on Maling and is great for a simple snack or lunch when in need of food. I thoroughly enjoyed my platter.


Who's Behind The Blog
Recommanded Reading
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow "THIS JUST IN"
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page