top of page

Weatherson Delight

Weathersons is a family owned business. It is located in 133 Maling Road, Canterbury. It is a five year old cafe with a franchise cafe in Kew that has been open for twelve years. The cafe is also 364 days a year. On Monday to Friday it is open from 7 am to 4:30 pm. During weekends, it is open from 7am to 5pm. Breakfast, lunch, takeaway, outdoor setting and gluten free options are all available. The head chef is Gail Weatherson.

As I walked down the overcrowded, but welcoming heritage Maling Road, I came to a halt as I spotted the bright orange Weathersons Foods sign. Upon entering the cafe, I noticed the bright orange wall, the homely but sophisticated vibe and buzzing atmosphere with many various customers ranging from old to young who made the cafe seem welcome and the simple,yet aesthetically pleasing decor. Simple,overhanging lights over each small table resulted in the room being well lit. Over the biggest table which was located in the center of the room was a small chandelier that added a touch of elegance. Tables and chairs that were made of wood furnished the room.

On the table, there were decorations that adorned the table such as a fake potted plant in a long pot and a small metal sign. Overhanging the table that I was seated at was a small chandelier Most of the tables were placed near the edges of the room, making it seem fuller. As we were seated, the waitress promptly greeted us, told us the specials and handed out menus. The waitress gave us some time to pick out an item and came back shortly. I decided on a lemon tart. While we were waiting, the waitress set down a green, wide necked bottle full of ice cold water and a glass that was warm as It had probably just been out of the dishwasher. Service was rather quick as in about two minutes, I was served my lemon tart.

Unfortunately, the lemon tart was rather small but the flavours made up for it. I smelt it, trying to savour the smell, but it overtook me; I just had to take a bite. Suddenly, I hit the lemon tart with my fork, making the buttery casing give way; it crumbled and let a gooey flow of the sunshine yellow lemon curd flow out. I picked up the crumbly casing and the gooey insides with my fork and moved it towards my mouth. I could smell butter and zingy lemon as it hovered below my nose. As soon as it went in my mouth, I could taste the piquant lemon filling and then the light buttery casing. While I was enjoying my lemon tart, the waitress came over and asked if I had any queries, eliminating the need for me to ask.

Weathersons is a great cafe that I would recommend trialling. My experience was great as the food was delicious and the staff were great. Weatherson caters for a range of people. Overall, I believe that it is a great cafe and I would highly recommend it.

Who's Behind The Blog
Recommanded Reading
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow "THIS JUST IN"
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page